Prematurity Awareness Month

“For You created my inmost being; You knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”   Psalm 139:13-14

The March of Dimes designates November as Prematurity Awareness Month. November 17 is specifically a day when bloggers all over unite to blog about premature babies to raise awareness. If you are reading our blog, you know that this definitely hits close to home for us. So, I’m going to share (in a condensed version) our journey through the first couple months with premature babies.

Anna Claire and Charlie were born at 30 weeks. Anna Claire weighed 979 grams (2 lbs 2oz) and Charlie weighed 1161 grams (2 lbs 8 oz). It is truly a miracle these little ones are with us today. When I was 28 weeks pregnant we learned there were some complications. The babies were not growing like they should be. We found out Anna Claire had absent end diastolic flow. (She wasn’t getting the right blood flow through the umbilical cord – therefore prohibiting good growth.) I also had preeclamsia. I was put on hospital bedrest. Once my water broke, the decision to deliver by c-section was quickly made. After delivery, we found out the severity of the situation. Anna Claire had over a 50% placental abrution. Yes this is scary…she probably wouldn’t have made it much longer. This also leads to a high instance a maternal mortality. To add to the scary situation, Charlie’s placenta had a clot in it and a mild placental infarction…yes, this is bad. Praise the Lord he broke my water!

Thus began our 10 week journey in the NICU. I was not able to go see the babies until 24 hours after delivery due to my own health issues. Devin did a great job going back and forth and keeping me updated on everything! I was so excited to be able to go see them the next day, but had no idea what I was going to see. I was in SO much pain, but pushed through it. We saw Charlie first. He and Anna Claire were in different rooms at this time. They were so small and so helpless. I didn’t know what to do. I had visited family and friends with newborns, but we couldn’t hold our babies; we couldn’t feed our babies. We could look at them and touch them a little. I look back on this time and think that I probably should have been more afraid/scared/nervous/worried than I was. Don’t think I wasn’t all of those things, but I truly believe that because of all the people praying for us, God gave us a peace that is indescribable. Over the next several weeks we dealt with all the premature issues like breathing difficulty, nasal canulas, apnea, feeding issues, residual, bilirubin issues, bili lights and blankets, PDA, hernia surgery, etc. I am forever grateful for the wonderful NICU nurses, staff, nurse practioners, respiratory thereapists, physical thereapists, surgeons, doctors, etc. who helped and loved our babies.

Anna Claire and Charlie are 8 months old now. They are growing and thriving. They are learning and teaching us more than we could ever imagine. God is good. Prayer is powerful. This journey is not over yet…it has only just begun. Thank you for joining us on this adventure. I thank God for each of you.

Here are a few pictures from the beginning and a few from this week. Enjoy!
Charlie then:
Anna Claire then:
Charlie now:
Anna Claire now:
Both now:

Published in: on November 18, 2009 at 3:04 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twolittlehensons.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/prematurity-awareness-month/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. God is good! He choose you and Devin to be the parents of these precious babies- How awesome! Love you!

  2. Wow! Just cried like a baby! God is so very good!!! and we have had so much joy from these two little miracles!

  3. They are soooo precious!! 🙂 What a miracle!!

  4. Hi,
    Thank you for doing this , I know it had to bring back a flood of thoughts and feelings. You are so right our children no matter how old they are , teach us about God and ourselves. These two will do it everyday, just wait and see. Our little miracles , our God and our faith .. Keep it coming God we need it all.
    Love you guys.


Leave a Reply

