Milk and Sleeping Questions

Look what they found…

It’s all fun and games until someone gets hurt…

Here’s a picture of my little snuggle bug when he was sick.  I love holding and rocking them (when they stay still long enough for me to do it!) 🙂

Now to my questions…

I know some babies come home from the hospital sleeping through the night.  Mine might have too, except in the NICU and when we brought them home, they were so little that the doctors advised us to feed them every three hours…8pm, 11pm, 2am, 5am, 8am, 11am, 2pm, 5pm.  I think this conditioned them to wake up in the middle of the night.  Well, it’s gotten better and each of them has occasionally slept through the night, but we have not had a single night in almost 11 months where the babies have both slept through the night.  I don’t say this to be complaining, but I’m writing this for advice.  Right now they are waking up once a night, eating, and going back to sleep.  I’ve heard of letting them cry it out.  I’m not completely opposed to this but I just don’t know exactly what to do.  Plus, we have two!  They share a room, so if one crys, he or she might wake the other up.  Any suggestions?

Milk…for 333 days now, I have been pumping breastmilk for them.  Whew!  What an adventure.  Since they will be 11 months old this week and I heard babies can start drinking whole milk at a year, I asked the doctor if we could start trying it.  So, we are puting 1.5 oz of whole milk with 4 oz of breastmilk for their bottles.  So far so good.  My goal is to increase the whole milk by an ounce each week and decrease the breastmilk.  My thought is that by their first birthday, the transition to whole milk will be done.  My question is…can you warm whole milk in the microwave?  We have to warm breastmilk in warm water so that it doesn’t breakdown and destroy all the good stuff.  Just curious.

Published in: on February 2, 2010 at 2:31 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twolittlehensons.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/milk-and-sleeping-questions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t imagine two climbing the stairs! C is climbing ours! I wouldn’t warm milk in the microwave. It could have hot pockets where it burns their mouths! Love that you have pumped for two this long!!!! I am doing it too and right now!

  2. Kathy! That is awesome that you are still pumping…for two…while working…almost a year later! That is great! I don’t know if this would work but you could gradually decrease the amount of milk you are giving them in the middle of the night. After that is done, only give them a sip of water without picking them up if they wake up. After mine slept through the night, if they regressed, I would do that and they soon realized that it wasn’t worth waking up for. Just an idea. 🙂

  3. Even with the bump, she’s so beautiful! love y’all

  4. SA was 7 months old when we dropped the early morning feeding (around 5:30 or 6). I never let her cry for more than 10 minutes at a time, and I just tried to rock her and cuddle her without feeding her to get her back to sleep. It was a long week, but it only took a week, and she’s never eating in the middle of the night since then. Sometimes she still goes through little spells where she wakes up in the middle of the night (and stands up) in her crib, but I just lay her back down and turn her mobile on. Sometimes she will fuss a little bit, but then fall back to sleep.

    I put SA’s whole milk in the microwave, and over like about a week or week and a half, decreased how much I warmed it up, so now she just drinks it cold. It’s still not her favorite thing, but we always try…and we make sure she gets calcium from yogurt, cheese, etc 🙂

  5. I don’t have a kid and actual mom experience, but I would say no to the microwave. I think as a general rule the microwave is bad for baby bottles/sippy cups; mainly because of the potential for burns. I like the idea of feeding them less in the middle of the night if they wake up, but I think every baby is different as far as when they will consistently sleep through the night. Again, I’m not a mom, so you can take my advice with a grain of salt! Good luck!

  6. O.k.–I feel like a “bad Mom”; I microwaved everything, including whole milk! Just stir it a bit to make sure it’s not got any hot spots! My kids (all 3!) wouldn’t drink it cold until we went to sippy cups. . .As for the sleeping thru the nite thing, I also decreased the milk I gave them until it was water. . .they won’t wake up for water! When they would wake up, I’d turn on some music, and lay them back down and they went back to sleeeeeep. . .Good luck!

  7. After my first baby I microwaved bottles for the next two and just shook or stirred the milk to avoid any burns. Not sure about the nutrients breaking down in whole milk since it’s barely warmed. When ours woke up during the night we would tuck them back in rub their back for a few seconds without talking or making eye contact then get out of the room as quick as possible! It took a few weeks and might seem kinda cold but it helped them learn how to get themselves back to sleep.


Leave a Reply

