Worn Out Rocker

Moms and Dads, have you ever had one of those days when you question why in the world God chose you to be a parent?  I mean…your children don’t listen, they act like they’ve never been told no or don’t even know what the word means, they have trouble obeying, they bother each other…anyone had those days?  Well, that was today for me.  We went to Target to get cat litter this morning.  The kids would not stop bothering each other in the buggy.  Charlie wouldn’t sit in the back.  Then in the car they kept messing with each other.  Anna Claire kept taking off her shoes and socks.  Charlie’s speech therapist showed up early and he was a crazy man during the session (however he did repeat 100 words!  Yay!)  After nap I let them watch a cartoon so I could jump in the shower for a few seconds (yes…I didn’t get a shower until 3 today 😦 ).  While I was in there, Anna Claire came running in and said, “Mommy, Charlie lotion no no!”  I quickly jumped out and ran to the living room and found my son STANDING on our glass coffee table with my face cleanser.  He took the top off and was shaking it EVERYWHERE!  After I cleaned up and got dressed we headed to the park with some friends.  I seriously cried all the way to the park…asking God what I was doing wrong.  I try to teach them right from wrong.  I show them love.  I provide for their needs.  I listen to them.  Why can’t they obey??  Well, tonight I put the kids to bed while Devin was tutoring.  A few minutes later Charlie called me and was having trouble going to sleep.  So, even though I was so fed up with him, I picked him up and rocked him.  Normally I would rock him for a few seconds to calm him down then put him back to bed.  Tonight we just rocked.  We rocked and I prayed.  I prayed for patience with my precious babies.  I prayed for them to listen.  Then I started thinking…all those things I was talking to God about earlier today are probably the same things He thinks daily…He tries to teach us right from wrong, He shows us love, He provides for our needs, He listens to us…why can’t we obey?  Next thing I knew, Charlie was literally snoring.  I’m thankful for forgiveness and a brand new day tomorrow. Thanks for listening to me decompress.

I thought I’d share some pictures Devin’s sister took of the kiddos Saturday.  Aren’t they just the most darling little two year olds you’ve ever seen? 🙂  Moments like these make this whole parenting thing all worth it!

Published in: on March 22, 2011 at 1:17 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twolittlehensons.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/worn-out-rocker/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are an amazing Mommy and I’m so glad you are my friend!!

  2. This was such an inspirational post. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for the reminder!

  3. you are a FANTASTIC mother, kathy. and those kids are going to be so smart, loving, and sweet when they grow up because of you guys. thanks for the Godly reminders today 🙂 and for always being someone to look up to. i love you!

  4. Honey,
    Whether they are two or 52, as long as you both live, you will have days like that. The difference is at two you can still hold, rock and pray for them. As they grow older, all you can do is pray for them and know that God loves them even more than you do. Hard to believe isn’t it? Once again, let me say that you and Devin are doing a fantastic job.

  5. This is so sweet!!! 🙂 You’re such a good mommy 🙂 Love y’all!! -Aunt Bekah

  6. we all need those moments to decompress don’t we 🙂
    your two little ones are absolutely adorable. the profile picture of AC and the last shot of charlie are just precious. the one where they are both holding the hand of the stuffed animal is my favorite.


Leave a Reply

