Being Mommy – Our Mission Field

Last Thursday I left with my sister and niece to go to NJ.  The day I left my kiddos got sick.  Of course it happens that way.  I felt helpless.  I was in NJ and they were in SC.  Thankfully Devin took very good care of them.  When I got home Saturday night they were still running fever, had stuffy noses, and were coughing.  Sunday morning we took them to the doctor and she had an ear infection and he had a sinus infection.  I am glad to report that they are on day 3 of antibiotics and are fever free and are feeling SO much better.  I actually haven’t wiped a nose today. 🙂 Now, for a little bit of honesty…there have been times the past couple days I have lost my patience with them.  Let’s face it…when our kiddos are sick, they are more needy.  They are clingy.  They are fussy.  (I’m that way when I’m sick too!)  On top of taking care of my little ones I had my daily chores…laundry, dishes, cooking, cleaning.  It’s hard to not get overwhelmed.  A friend of mine posted a link to this article yesterday and it really hit home.  You should take a moment to read it. (click here)

So, you may come to my house and see laundry on the couch that needs to be folded, or dishes that need to be unloaded, or a playroom that looks like a disaster zone.  I’ll get it done.  Probably after 8:30 pm.  What you will also see if you come to my house is my precious little ones.  The two little ones God has given to Devin and me for this time.  Our mission field.  Whether you work outside the home or at home…know what you do for your family is oh so very important.  Have a great day!

Published in: on July 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twolittlehensons.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/being-mommy-our-mission-field/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your posting today and the article about home as a mission field!

  2. Thanks for posting this! I needed to read it this morning 🙂

  3. I love your mission field!

  4. I love that article 🙂 and the sweet pictures!!

  5. […] a quote from an article about my mission field, being a Mommy. My dear friend Kathy also wrote a great post about it too! Recently there was another great post about the calling of being a Mommy on the blog. […]


Leave a Reply

