11 Years of Marriage

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender IMG_2940Our 11th anniversary was July 17.  We had already planned a fun beach trip with the Broadwells for that weekend, so Devin and I celebrated the weekend before.  My sweet momma invited the kids to spend the night, so we went to dinner at Outback, walked the dam at sunset, and grabbed a Redbox for a movie night at home.  It was a great day!IMG_2809 IMG_2814  However, the day of our actual anniversary is one we will never forget.  Like I said, we were leaving for the beach that day.  We couldn’t leave as early as our friends because the kids were at VBS and Devin had a meeting at school.  We finally got all packed and hit the road after lunch.  While we were driving down I-20, we witnessed an unthinkable, horrible, terrible accident.  A man was hit by another car when he was trying to get his family’s luggage out of the road that fell from his van.  I have never actually witnessed something like this before.  Devin jumped out and was the first one to the man.  I called 911.  We are not medical professionals, but thankfully a nurse was in a car nearby as well as a paramedic.  Devin gave them his shirt to help stop some bleeding, he talked to two of their three kids, and directed traffic.  I stayed on the phone with the dispatcher and stood with the wife.  I prayed out loud as this man was gasping for breath.  I was hopeful…so hopeful…that he would live.  Before the paramedics arrived, he stopped breathing.  They began CPR.  The police came. The paramedics came.  The police took Devin’s statement.  Unfortunately, the man (his name is Dave) passed away.  Many times a day I replay this in my head.  How could this happen? I’m still processing this.  Death is hard.  Really hard.  Thanks to the internet, we have been able to connect with the family and have emailed back and forth several times.  Please pray for his wife, Kellie, and their three children.

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes.  There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” Revelation 21:4

So on this 11th anniversary, I’m thinking about our vows “to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, until death do us part.” I’m definitely treasuring the time I have with my family and friends more now.  I’ll blog more about our beach trip later, but here are a few pictures we snapped one night after dinner.  IMG_3124 IMG_3130

Published in: on July 21, 2015 at 6:43 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twolittlehensons.wordpress.com/2015/07/21/11-years-of-marriage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

