Getting Healthy

img_9448I’m about to be very real with y’all. On April 18, 2016 I was finally at my breaking point. I weighed a whole lot. I wasn’t sleeping well…my arm and hands were falling asleep, I was snoring so loudly, and I would wake up in the morning feeling so nauseated. During the day my knees were hurting as well as my feet. My wedding rings were stuck on my finger (like I seriously couldn’t get them off.) My clothes were getting too tight…again. I was frustrated; my husband was frustrated. This same day my best friend told me she and a couple friends were going to do this couch-to-5k program so they could do a 5k fun run over the summer. She also asked me if I wanted to read a book called Made to Crave with her. Hmmm…sure? I’m not really a reader and I’m definitely not a runner, but why not? 🙂 *I would like to add that I read 3 books this summer. Ha!

Here’s a quote from the Made To Crave book: ‘It’s not the “how to” I’m missing. It’s the “want to”…really wanting to make changes and deciding that the results of those changes are worth the sacrifice.’

I decided I was going to not eat desserts. I was going cold turkey! This is the same person who would eat cookies at 6am while packing her kids’ lunches, dessert for/with lunch and supper…oh and after the kids went to bed, or when I checked out at the store, etc. I was reminded of 1 Corinthians 10:23 “Everything is permissible for me but not everything is beneficial.” I also decided I would start running. Oh my goodness. I could not run 60 seconds. Seriously. Day one of the program has you running 60 seconds and walking 90. It was pitiful. But I persevered. I will never forget week 9 once I made it to running 30 minutes straight. It was glorious! However, that still wasn’t 3.1  miles for my 5k. It took me 13 minutes per mile, so 39 minutes to run my first 5k. I’m pretty sure some people can walk faster than that.

As we continued through the summer, there were times that I really wanted a sweet treat, but I knew at this time I had to resist. Another quote from the book: “Becoming a woman of self-discipline honors God and helps me live the godly characteristic of self control.” Now, being honest here, I had a piece of birthday cake for my birthday, a brownie on mother’s day, a snow cone, and a small cup of strawberry icecream when we went to Charleston with some friends in August. But let’s be real…there were days I’ve eaten more desserts before lunch than I listed above from all summer!

So let’s fast forward 8 days shy of 6 months from that day in April. Today, October 10, 2016 I ran 6 MILES at an average pace of 9min 53sec/mile. I’ve lost 56 pounds…back in the one hundreds. I can take off my wedding rings. My snoring has stopped. I don’t wake up feeling sick or with numb hands and arms. I still have a long way to go, but I’m making progress. I’m eating real food and exercising. That’s it. I’m praying daily that God will continue to give me the strength to be strong and healthy. I deserve it, my kids deserve a healthy mom, and my hubby sure is happy too! 😉

I honestly wanted to write this to hopefully be an encouragement to you. If I can do this, I know you can!

And just because I know pictures of the kids are the most appealing part of my blog…here are their 2nd grade school pictures. Oh I love these kiddos!

Published in: on October 11, 2016 at 3:12 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twolittlehensons.wordpress.com/2016/10/11/getting-healthy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

